Build with IDX Broker Forums Equity and Child Themes how can i move main nav in curb appeal next to logo?

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Participant

i have attached a screenshot of a crude example. basically i want to shrink the top header area and would like to move the main nav next to the logo. the problem is i am relatively new to wordpress (been Drupal developer for years) and it is very unclear to me where in the equity theme and child theme curb appeal the menu is generated. typically i would just move the div that includes the main menu into the div for the header and then clean up with CSS. but it is very fragmented with lots of php functions.

Attachments:
      You must be logged in to view attached files.
      1 rating, 1 vote1 rating, 1 vote (+1 rating, 1 votes, rated)
      You need to be a registered member to rate this post.
    • David Leary
      Participant

solution: way too convoluted and difficult but its done. all changes are done on the equity theme level.

first, you need to edit the theme’s function.php file to add the menu location to the GUI … this link explains it: https://codex.wordpress.org/Navigation_Menus … for me i named the location “Logo Menu”

then, you need to edit lib/framework/header.php … you basically need to write an almost complete function to generate your menu so that it points to your new menu location you created and so that it inherits the correct styling and CSS just like the main nav. so in the function equity_do_header() you need to paste something like the following:

equity_markup( array(
      		'html5'   => '<div class="nav-menu-center columns small-12 large-65"><nav %s data-topbar>',
      		'context' => 'nav-main',
      	) );
      	echo '<ul class="title-area"><li class="name"></li><li class="toggle-topbar menu-icon"><a href="#"><span>Menu</span></a></li></ul><section class="top-bar-section">';
      	if ( has_nav_menu( 'logo-menu' ) ) {
      			equity_nav_menu( array(